skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [23 March 1847]1

Down Farnborough | Kent


My dear Hooker

I propose going up to London on Thursday & coming to you at Kew on Friday sometime between 10 & 12 oclock; but my movements, you know, are always doubtful owing to my stomach & rather more than usually so just at present. But I much wish to be in London this week.

Many thanks for your proposal of our all going together on Saturday to the Marquis’es, but it would not, I fear, suit the calibre of my abominable stomach, though it would have been very pleasant.2

I presume of course that you have left Grt. Ryder St,3 so I direct this to Kew. But if you shd have been detained in Town you can let me know by a note to 7. Park St. & we could have our talk over my sketch after breakfast at Park St.— — I am very curious to hear about your grand Indian scheme.—4

Ever yours | C. Darwin

If I don’t appear on Friday, before 12 oclock you will understand the reason; & I hope leaving my appearance open, can cause you no inconvenience.—


Dated on the basis of CD’s planned visit to Kew on 26 March (see letter to J. D. Hooker, [14 March 1847]).
Hooker’s lodgings near the Geological Survey premises in London.
For Hooker’s plans to undertake a botanical field trip in India, see L. Huxley ed. 1918, 1: 216–18.


Health permitting, proposes to visit Kew on Friday.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 114: 83
Physical description
4pp & C

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1074,” accessed on 4 December 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 4