skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Francis Darwin   [28 September 1876]

Dear F.

I send your copy by this Post. I almost think, if he is a swell, you had better thank him.1 If so join me in & say that I shall be much interested in subject on account of some observations made by myself. (ie on bloom.)2

Your corrections very good for Ch. XI.

yours affect, | In Haste | C. D

Cohn & Roemer coming directly.3


The paper and its author have not been identified.
In 1873, CD had done some experiments to ascertain whether bloom (a waxy or pruinose covering) on fruit or leaves served a protective function, but had given these up by the end of the year (see Correspondence vol. 21, letter to J. D. Hooker, 20 December [1873] and n. 6).
Ferdinand Julius Cohn, together with his wife, Pauline Cohn, and a colleague, Ferdinand Römer, visited on 28 September 1876 (letter from Emma Darwin to Leonard Darwin, [29 September 1876] (DAR 239.23: 1.51)). For Cohn’s account of the visit, see Glick 2010, pp. 71–5.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Glick, Thomas F. 2010. What about Darwin? All species of opinion from scientists, sages, friends, and enemies who met, read, and discussed the naturalist who changed the world. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press.


Sends [unidentified] volume for FD.

Ferdinand Cohn is coming to Down.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Francis Darwin
Sent from
SP 28 76
Source of text
DAR 211: 14
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10623,” accessed on 16 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 24