skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From T. H. Huxley   3 April 1876

4 Marlborough Place | NW

April 3. 1876

My dear Darwin

Are you likely to be at the Soirée of the Royal Society on Wednesday?1

A Dr. Sarazin a frenchman with a wonderfully good knowledge of English who has translated young Arnolds books and is translating my Lay Sermons greatly wants to see you & to tender his services for the translation of any of your books2 He is a very competent man & you might find him of use—

I will read your letter about Swinhoe to the Council—& see what can be done for him—3

We have had the mumps in the house & my wife4 has unluckily taken it   She is getting better I am glad to say but is weak

With all our loves | Ever | Yours | T H Huxley


The Royal Society of London conversazione took place on Wednesday 5 April 1876; the event was reported in Nature, 13 April 1876, pp. 473–4. CD did not attend (see letter to J. D. Hooker, 9 April 1876).
Jules Sarazin translated Matthew Arnold’s Literature & dogma (Arnold 1873 and 1876), and Huxley’s Lay sermons, addresses, and reviews (T. H. Huxley 1870 and 1877), into French.
CD’s letter about Robert Swinhoe has not been found. CD had first proposed Swinhoe for a Royal Society fellowship in 1874 but the proposal form (Royal Society Archives EC/1876/18) was resuspended in 1875 and 1876; see this volume, Supplement, letter from Robert Swinhoe, 14 January 1874 and n. 2. Swinhoe was elected on 1 June 1876 (Record of the Royal Society of London).
Henrietta Anne Huxley.


Arnold, Matthew. 1873. Literature & dogma: an essay towards a better apprehension of the Bible. London: Smith, Elder.

Record of the Royal Society of London: The record of the Royal Society of London for the promotion of natural knowledge. 4th edition. London: Royal Society. 1940.


A Dr Sarazin offers services as translator.

Will read CD’s letter about Robert Swinhoe to Royal Society Council and see what can be done for him.

Letter details

Letter no.
Thomas Henry Huxley
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Marlborough Place, 4
Source of text
DAR 166: 345
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10438,” accessed on 26 January 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 24