skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To A. C. Thomson   11 February 1876

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

Feb 11. 1876


There has been some delay in answering your letter of Feb 5th, as the Rev: J: Brodie Innes now resides in the N of Scotland. I return the enclosed paper signed & witnessed.1 The other paper has been sent to the Registrar of Friendly Socs; but I cannot understand why he requires it, as on the election of Mr Pearson as trustee in the place of Mr Duck deceased, I obtained from him the proper form, and returned it with a request that he would communicate with the National Debt Office.2 This I suppose he did for the Commissioners did not object to the signature of Mr Pearson when we deposited £120, lately withdrawn from the P.O. Savings Bank.

Sir | Your obedt servant | Charles R. Darwin


Neither Thomson’s letter nor the enclosure have been found, but see the letter to J. B. Innes, 7 February [1876]. CD and John Brodie Innes were trustees of the Down Friendly Society. Thomson was controller of the Post Office Savings Bank.
See letter to J. M. F. Ludlow, 11 February 1876 and enclosure. The registrar of Friendly Societies was John Malcolm Forbes Ludlow; Charles Pearson had replaced George Francis Duck as a trustee of the Down Friendly Society.


Writes regarding affairs of the Down Friendly Society.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Alexander Christie Thomson
Sent from
Source of text
Wellcome Collection (MS.7781/1–32 item 14)
Physical description
2pp & Adraft 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10386,” accessed on 29 November 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 24