skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. E. Darwin   [before 29 January 1876?]1

New University Club, | St. James’s Street, S.W.


My dear Father,

Your cigarettes are gone to you price 6s/ a box—I have paid. I am afraid they are too small. I send next size called “Zetland” if you will return them to

Wood Son

late Theodoridi C.

Pall Mall

They will send you them & charge me the 2s/ a box difference2

Your affect son | W.E D


The date is conjectured from the date of CD’s payment to William for cigarettes (see n. 2, below).
CD paid William £1 10s. for cigarettes on 29 January 1876; he made payments to Wood for cigarettes of £1 4s. on 12 July and 27 November 1876, and 16s. on 5 June 1877 (CD’s Account books–cash account (Down House MS)). John Wood & Sons had taken over the tobacconist business of Theodoridi & Co. at 23 Pall Mall (Post Office London directory 1876, British Mail and General Produce Prices Current, 31 March 1876, p. 201).


Post Office London directory: Post-Office annual directory. … A list of the principal merchants, traders of eminence, &c. in the cities of London and Westminster, the borough of Southwark, and parts adjacent … general and special information relating to the Post Office. Post Office London directory. London: His Majesty’s Postmaster-General [and others]. 1802–1967.


Purchases cigarettes for CD.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Erasmus Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 58)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10366F,” accessed on 20 January 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 24